Physicists for Inclusion in Science


Physicists for Inclusion in Science ("PhIS", pronounced "fizz") grew out the "Women in Physics" group. We support members of underrepresented groups as they pursue their careers. The group meets several times a term for discussion and to organize events and activities. The group consists of students, faculty and staff in the Physics department, alumni, and other physicists on campus or in the community. The student members formally constitute the OSU student club, "Physicists for Inclusion in Science"You can email the officers at

Webpage: Find us on our webpage
Facebook: Find us on Facebook

CUWiP: The WiP group hosted the 2016 Conference on Undergraduate Women in Physics, sponsored by APS/NSF/DoE. The 2022 CUWiP applications are open.


Oregon State University's Physics Department has multiple women faculty members, Corinne Manogue, Janet Tate, Oksana Ostroverkhova, Liz Gire, Kathy Hadley, Rebecka Tumblin, and past head of the department Heidi Schellman. Many of our faculty were born and raised outside of the U.S., so reflect several cultures from Asia, America and Europe, but we acknowledge that we have no black, hispanic or other minority faculty members.  We have cutting-edge research and state-of the-art equipment in the department, and we foster students' professional development in every way we can. The department has a novel upper-division physics curriculum, the Paradigms in Physics program, directed by Corinne Manogue. This program emphasizes the unity of physics and implements active engagement and group problem-solving. Our introductory courses also use active engagement methods and we have a Studio Physics version of the introductory course. Our department encourages and fosters the ambition of women and minorities in physics, and offers exciting forefront research opportunities that can lead to varied and interesting careers.  The College of Science and the Department of Physics have been proactive in recruiting women faculty, and dual hires are common.

Graduate Students

We have about 45 graduate students, who pursue research towards Ph.D. or M.S. degrees in experimental or theoretical solid state physics, atomic, molecular and optical physics, biophysics, astrophysics, computational physics, or physics education. Classes from other departments such as Mathematics, Engineering, Chemistry, Oceanography, Science Education, may be incorporated into the graduate physics program. About 20% of the graduate students are women.

Undergraduate Students

We award about 30 B.S. degrees in Physics each year. Our Paradigms in Physics curriculum is innovative and fun. Students learn to think about physics the way professionals do. We use many different pedagogies such as group activities, integrated laboratories, computer visualization. There is a strong cohort and the atmosphere is very supportive. There are opportunities for research - all students complete a senior thesis. Recent OSU graduates are enrolled in graduate schools all over the country: Arizona State University, Princeton, UCLA, U. C. Santa Cruz, University of New Mexico, Washington State University, University of Washington, and Cornell.  Others have jobs in high tech industry: Hewlett Packard, FEI, Cascade Microtech, to name a few in Oregon.  Undergraduates have an opportunity to be learning assistants or teaching assistants in our introductory and some upper-division courses.

Other Local Diversity in Science Programs

Information for and about  Minorities & Women in Science and Technology

Slides highlighting diverse physicists and scientists (Scientist Spotlights)

Slides highlighting diverse members of the CoS (Faculty Spotlights)

Fellowships and Scholarships

OSU's Graduate School, has information about fellowships.
AAUW Educational Foundation, Fellowships and Grants. Several fellowships and grants are available for women in doctoral and post-doctoral studies for advanced study nationally and internationally. Deadlines vary. 
Zonta International Amelia Earhart & Women in Technology Fellowships
NSF Graduate Fellowships
Graduate Fellowships for STEM Diversity


Everyone needs a job sometime! Physicists are extraordinarily versatile and have found careers from the traditional ones in industry and academia to those in finance, medicine, law, policy and many other fields. Talk to faculty members, other graduate students who are currently seeking jobs, and search the internet. Personal contact is important, and resume posting services can  be very helpful.  More detailed information for undergraduates is here.

Job postings

American Physical Society 
AIP/Physics Today 

The Pacific Northwest

is a great place to live. Portland, OR and Vancouver, WA have a large density of high-tech employers, and Corvallis has Hewlett-Packard Company's largest research center outside of California, along with many smaller technical companies.

National Labs

are required to post open jobs - sometimes these postings are hidden in subdivision pages.

Lawrence Livermore 
Lawrence Berkeley 
Pacific Northwest 
Oak Ridge 
Los Alamos

Bits and Pieces:

The 2021 president of the American Physical Society, Sylvester James Gates, Jr, became the second African American, after Homer Neal (2016), to lead the professional organization. APS has had 6 women presidents since its founding in 1899: Laura Greene (2017), Cherry A. Murray (2009), Helen Quinn (2004), Myriam Sarachik (2003), Mildred Dresselhaus (1984) and Chien-Shiung Wu (1975). Frances Hellman, the 2021 vice-president, will become president in 2022.   The Chief Executive Officer of APS from 2015-2020 was Kate Kirby.

Ginger Kerrick, a physicist and NASA's first Hispanic female flight director, gave the address at the 2016 CUWiP conference.

Here's an interview with laser physicist Margaret Murnane, MacArthur "Genius" Award winner in 2000. Murnane is one of several women physicists to have won a MacArthur award. Others are: Helen T. Edwards (1988), Margaret Geller (1990), Eva Silverstein (1999), Lene Hau (2001), Deborah Jin (2003), Xiaowei Zhuang (2003), Andrea Ghez (2008), Michal Lipson (2010), Nergis Mavalvala (2010), Ana Maria Rey (2013), Sara Seager (2013), Danielle Bassett (2014), Monika Schleier-Smith (2020).

Four women are Nobel laureates in physics: Marie Sklodowska Curie (1903, also Chemistry 1911), Maria Goeppert-Meyer (1963), Donna Strickland (2018) and Andrea Ghez (2020).

Current PhIS Officers (2022-2023):

Miranda Seghers (President), Alexa Zaback (Vice President), Tyler Norgren (Treasurer), Audrey Nelson (Secretary). Advisor: Fred DeAngelis

Previous PhIS Officers:

2021-2022: Georgia Carroll (President), Abbie Glickman (Vice President), Christian Solorio (Treasurer), Cameron Clonch (Secretary). Advisor: Janet Tate

2020-2021: Kasey Yoke  (President), Noah Vaughan (Vice President), Christian Solorio (Treasurer), Georgia Carroll (Secretary). Advisor: Davide Lazzati

2019-2020: Acacia Patteson (President), Gina Mayonardo (Vice President), Abbie Glickman (Treasurer), Mattia Carbonara (Secretary). Advisor: Davide Lazzati

2018-2019: MacKenzie Lenz (President), Kelby Hahn (Vice President), Mike Vignal (Treasurer), Mattia Carbonara (Secretary). Advisor: Liz Gire

2017-2018: MacKenzie Lenz (President), Kelby Hahn (Vice President), Jess Armstrong (Treasurer), Maggie Lewis (Secretary). Advisor: Janet Tate

2016-2017: Allison Gicking (President), Nicole Quist (Vice President), Jess Armstrong (Treasurer), Heather Hill (Secretary). Advisor: Janet Tate