WIC Culture of Writing in Physics Award

The Department of Physics and the WIC program recognize the importance of writing and communication in the discipline. Each year, we choose an outstanding undergraduate essay from the WIC (Writing Intensive Curriculum) course for special recognition. The recipient receives an award of $100 and additional recognition by the University. The award is made near the end of the spring term.


All participants in the WIC class for the Physics major (PH403, Senior Thesis) are eligible.


The WIC Culture of Writing in Physics Award recognizes undergraduate excellence in scientific writing. Students must write a thesis that describes and explains the scientific research conducted in the course of the thesis project.


Finalists for the award are chosen by the WIC instructor and the winner is decided by a faculty committee.


The WIC Culture of Writing in Physics Award is due at the WIC program offices on Friday of week 9 of the Spring term (near the end of May). The thesis is submitted to the department on Friday of week 6. The award recipient is announced at the Senior thesis presentations at the end of Spring term.

Previous awards:

Year Recipient
2018-2019 Brennan Douglas;
Honorable mention:Abigail Kimbrough, John Waczak
2017-2018 Christopher May
2016-2017 Jeremy Meinke
2015-2016 Sam Kowash
Honorable mention: Katie Banowetz, Evan Peters
2014-2015 Michael Perlin
2013-2014 Heather Wilson