Graduate Research Award

The Department of Physics recognizes the valuable contribution to science made by graduate student researchers and yearly selects an outstanding graduate student for special recognition in research. The recipient receives an award of $500, and a certificate. The award is made near the end of the spring term.


All graduate students in the Department of Physics and graduate students whose thesis research is supervised by a Physics faculty member are eligible for the award.


The Graduate Research Award recognizes excellence in research. The research should be of high caliber, and should be disseminated to the scientific community. The quality and impact of the science will be considered, as will the efforts to disseminate the research results. Dissemination is interpreted in the widest form: papers in scientific journals and conference proceedings, oral or poster presentations at local, regional, national or international seminars and conferences, a research thesis, technical papers, web dissemination, and other interactions that bring the research to the attention and consideration of the wider scientific community.


The selection committee solicits nominations from all physics graduate faculty members and from faculty in other departments who supervise the research of physics graduate students. The package consists of the nomination letter, at least one other confidential letters of recommendation, the student's curriculum vitae, and the student's description of the research activities and dissemination (4-page maximum).


Nomination packages are due in the Graduate Secretary's office by 4pm on the Friday of the 6th week of Spring term. The award is announced in the 10th or 11th week of Spring term.

Previous awards:

Year Recipient
2020-2021 Amit Bashyal & Gregory Giesbers
2019-2020 Jonathan Van Schenck & Mitchell Senger
2018-2019 Tyler Parsotan
2017-2018 Atul Chhotray
2016-2017 Jihan Kim
2015-2016 Christopher Jones
2014-2015 Brian Johnson
2013-2014 Tal Sharf
2012-2013 Michael Paul
2011-2012 Mark Kendrick
Nick Kuhta
2010-2011 Joe Tomaino
2009-2010 Andrew Platt
2008-2009 Andriy Zakutayev
2007-2008 Peter Sprunger
2006-2007 Alexander Govyadinov