PH435, Capstones in Physics: Classical Mechanics

Fall 2017


Dr. Davide Lazzati email


Syllabus (Includes information on textbooks, office hours, contact, grading policy)

Problem Solving Tips (rubric will not be used for grading but provides a wealth of relevant information)


Class Schedule

Date

Topic

Assignments/Readings/Materials

Wednesday, Sept 20

Class Intro:
Rules and Regulations
What I expect and what you should be expecting from me
Important Homework Rules
Newtonian Mechanics:
Intro
Read Chapter 1 of Taylor taxtbook
HW1 (Available on Canvas; due Friday Sept 29, at noon)

Friday, Sept 22

Velocity Dependent Forces:
Derivation of a sensible equation for the drag force
Viscous vs. Momentum Drag

Taylor 2.1, 2.2

Monday, Sept 25

Velocity Dependent Forces:
Terminal velocity
Equations of motion for viscous and momentum drag

Taylor 2.3, 2.4

Wednesday, Sept 27

Velocity Dependent Forces:
Projectile motion with drag

Taylor 2.3, 2.4
A python routine to compute the motion of a projectile with drag Download here

Friday, Sept 29

Rocket Motion:
Derivation of equation of motion
Thrust
Lift-off

Taylor Section 3.2
HW1 due by end of class
HW2 (Available on Canvas; due Friday Oct 6, at noon)

Monday, Oct 2

Rocket motion
Optimization of lift-off mass
Systems or particles:
Center of Mass
Momentum and Angular Momentum

Taylor Chapter 3 (lecture notes)

Wednesday, Oct 4

Systems or particles:
Center of mass
Linear Momentum
Motion fo the center of mass

Taylor Chapter 3 (lecture notes)

Friday, Oct 6

Systems of Particles:
Angular Momentum, Torque, and Energy
Calculus of Variations:
Intro to brachistochrone and functionals

Taylor Chapter 6 (lecture notes)
HW2 due by end of class
HW3 (Available on Canvas; due Friday October 13, at noon)

Monday, Oct 9

Calculus of Variations:
Euler's Equation
Shortest path between two points

Taylor Chapter 6 (lecture notes)

Wednesday, Oct 11

Calculus of Variations:
The brachistochrone in all its glory

Taylor Chapter 6 (lecture notes)

Friday, Oct 13

Calculus of Variations:
The second form of Euler's equation
The brachistochrone (again!)
Problems

Taylor Chapter 6
HW3 due by end of class
HW4 (Available on Canvas; due Friday October 20, at noon)

Monday, Oct 16

Calculus of Variations:
Integral and linear constraints
Dido's problem

Taylor Chapter 6

Wednesday, Oct 18

Lagrangian Mechanics:
Hamilton's principle
Free particle
Simple pendulum

Taylor Chapter 7



Monday, Oct 23

Midterm





Wednesday, Dec 6

Final Exam
at 6pm (to Be Confirmed)


Last modified: Wed November 16, 2016