## Dedication of Physics - Chemistry Building [now known as Weniger Hall]

The committee in charge of the program for the dedication of the Physics-Chemistry Building consisted of representatives of each department in the building, Science Research Institute, Chemistry, Agricultural Chemistry, Oceanography, General Science, Science Education, with Dr. James Brady of the Physics Department as Chairman. The program was held on October 26 and 27, 1962.

The program was as follows:

9:30 am Welcome: Dr. James H. Jensen, President of Oregon State University

> Invocation: Dr. C. Warren Hovland, Chairman, Departments of Religion and Philosophy, Oregon State University

Introduction of Distinguished Guests by President Jensen

Remarks: J. W. Forrester, Jr., Member, Oregon State System of Higher Education, Chairman of the Building Committee

> Dr. Roy E. Lieuallen, Chancellor of the Oregon State System of Higher Education

Dr. F. A. Gilfillan, Dean emeritus of the School of Science, Oregon State University

10:30 am

1 150

am Address, Home Economics Auditorium

Dr. Homer Newell, "Opportunities for Universities in the Field of Space Science"

12:15 pm Luncheon for participants

2:30 pm Address, Home Economics Auditorium

Dr. Willard F. Libby, "Impact of Chemistry on Society"

6:30 pm OPEN HOUSE, ALL DEPARTMENTS

9:30 am Address, Home Economics Auditorium Dr. E. M. McMillan, "Elementary Particles"

10:30 am Refreshments, Foyer, Physics-Chemistry Building

11:00 am Roundtable Discussion: Physics-Chemistry 1511ding

Participants:

Dr. Willard F. Libby

- Dr. E. M. McMillan
- Dr. Homer Newell

Dr. Edmund Volkart, Dean, School of Humanities

and Social Sciences, Oregon State University

Moderator: Dr. Vernon Cheldelin, Dean, School of Science Oregon State University

## ABOUT THE SPEAKERS

Dr. Edwin M. McMillan is the Director of the Lawrence Radiation Laboratory and Professor of Physics at the University of California at Berkeley. In 1951 he was the recipient of the Nobel Prize for his work on the discovery of some of the transuranic elements. Dr. McMillan also is noted for his discovery of the principles underlying the operation of the synchrotron and the synchro-cyclotron.

Dr. Willard F. Libby is a Professor of Chemistry at the University of California in Los Angeles. He is a former Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission and received the Nobel Prize in 1960 for devising the method of radiocarbon dating. Dr. Libby received the Willard Gibbs Medal in 1958 and the Albert Einstein Award in 1959.

Dr. Homer Newell is Director of Space Sciences for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. He was formerly superintendent of the Atmospheric and Astrophysics division of the Naval Research Laboratory. Dr. Newell came to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration from the faculty at the University of Maryland. He is the author of the book High Altitude Rocket Research.

## ABOUT THE BUILDING

Known officially as the Physics-Chemistry Building, this giant fivestory structure is a multipurpose facility, serving both instructional and research purposes. Built at a cost of five million dollars, this unit gives Oregon State University one of the largest and best equipped science teaching and research centers in the United States.

The 203,939 square feet of floor space give housing to the Science Research Institute, the Departments of Physics, Chemistry, Agricultural Chemsitry, Oceanography, General Science, and Science Education. On the roof of the building are located greenhouses, small animal laboratories, and a meteorology station. Equipment in the building used to aid in research includes an electron microscope, optical spectrometer, highpowered centrifuges, electron paramagnetic resonance spectrometer, and X-ray machines.

Kinds of research conducted in the building include nuclear and solid state physics, gaseous electronics, and studies in photoelectricity; heart muscle chemistry and metabolic pahtways; rain and hailstone patterns; oceanographic investigations, and further inquiries ranging from cell ultrastructure to toxicity of chemical agents.

Part of the construction and equipment cost of the building was paid by generous grants from the U. S. Public Health Service and the National Science Foundation.