

Dr. Larry Schecter, professor of Physics, presents newly created annual physics student competition award to James L. Anderson. The award is funded by private contributions to the OSU Foundation.



The Physics Department announces the opening of the first annual competition for undergraduates in Physics. A prize of \$100 will be awarded to the undergraduate submitting the best original paper on any subject in Physics. Judges will consist of a committee of graduata students. Suitable topics might include the solution of a problem growing out of the student's interest as stimulated by class asaignment the historical development of a concept, detailed design and analysis of new demonstration or laboratory equipment, etc. Each paper must include a bibliography of source material used.

The Judges' decision will be final; they will make at most one award and one honorable mention, but may withhold award if no papers of suitable quality are submitted. Deadline for submission of entries will be the first day of classes, Spring Term 1973. The award will be made at the last Department Colloquium of the 1972-73 academic year.



## OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

SCHOOL OF SCIENCE OFFICE OF THE DEAN Telephone (503) 754-1811

May 14, 1973

TO: Dr. Larry Schecter, Chairman Physics

FROM: John D. Lattin, Assistant Dean

We have scheduled a luncheon to honor the recipients of the various scholarships within the College of Science. Each of you has one or more recipients among your departmental or curriculum major (see below).

We would like to invite you to be our guest at this luncheon and join us in recognizing these fine students. This luncheon is scheduled for Thursday, May 24, Mu 109A, from 12:30 - 1:30 PM.

If you are unable to come to the luncheon, please ask for an appropriate departmental representative to attend. Please let us know who the substitute will be. Call Mrs. Haynes by Monday, May 21, and tell her whether or not you will attend.

## Scholarship

Milton Harris

Paul Copson Memorial

Longview Fiber Company

Physics Department

Joseph E. Simmons Memorial

Standard Oil Company of California

Union Oil Company of California

Samuel M. Evans Memorial Fund

Benton County Medical Society

Undergraduate Award

Copson

Recipients

## Department

Computer Sci.

Mathematics

Biochemistry

Microbiology

Chemistry

Chemistry

Geology

Geology

Physics

McSharry, Michael

Baumgartner, Lawrence Cham, Kit Man

Hathaway, Joe Sue Jernstedt, Karen K.

Wolfe, James K.

Eby, Christina M.

Hodges, Wade A.

Mahar, Dennis L.

Zimbrick, Grant D.

Rowe, Leslie

Geology Premedicine

Anderson, James L.

Physics

## OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

SCHOOL OF SCIENCE

CORVALLIS, OREGON 97331

OFFICE OF THE DEAN

May 14, 1973

Mr. James L. Anderson 960 N.W. Hayes, #4 Corvallis, Oregon 97330

Dear Mr. Anderson:

The College of Science will hold the annual scholarship luncheon on Thursday, May 24 at 12:30 PM in MU 109A. We would like to invite you, as recipient of the Physics Department Undergraduate Award, to be our guest at this luncheon. Would you please call Mrs. Haynes, extension 1811, by Monday, May 21, and indicate whether or not you will be able to attend.

Very sincerely,

Robert W. Krauss Dean

cc: Dr. Schecter RWK:sl